Víkurskarð

For the last couple of weeks Doddi has been driving tourist all over Iceland. He started in the South and then continued to the North, and ended up in Mývatn, the place all tourists must visit when in Iceland. Today he was taking the group on a Super Jeep tour to Aldeyjarfoss. But unfortunately one of the guys had to end his trip early, and needed a ride from Goðafoss to Akureyri. So this morning I got up very early to drive to Goðafoss, in snow, ice and fog, to pick up the tourist.

I’ve gone to Mývatn and that area more times then I can count, still this was the first time I had to drive over the mountain during the winter time all by myself, and I must admit that it was a bit scary. Its a big drop on one side, and you do not want to drive off the road there. But even if the roads were very slippery and there was fog on the way up the mountain, I still managed to get up there without any problems, I just wasn’t driving 90 like you’re allowed to 😉

Half frozen Goðdafoss

Half frozen Goðdafoss

Since it was so early in the morning it was very dark, so I didn’t get to see my beloved waterfall, Goðafoss. Luckily it’s only been a few weeks since I was there last, so I still have it fresh in mind. It was very beautiful last time we were there, because of the snow the water get such an amazing colour, I just love it!

Summer, Autumn, Winter or Spring doesn't matter, Goðafoss always looks beautiful.

Summer, Autumn, Winter or Spring doesn’t matter, Goðafoss always looks beautiful.

10 thoughts on “Víkurskarð

Leave a Reply

