A change in seasons

Since winter is almost here, I thought I would do a short recap of how my summer was. Since we had our new company, IceAk, it of course was a bit different. We got to travel quite a lot, or at least Doddi did, but it was manly to the Mývatn area. I got to try what it’s like to be a guide and found it quite fun, hopefully I will get to do that some more in the future. But all in all it was a fun summer with expeditions and many hours spent in cars.

I got to see the beautiful Aldeyjarfoss for the first time this summer, and I was not disappointed.

I got to see the beautiful Aldeyjarfoss for the first time this summer, and I was not disappointed. It was stunning!

I got to cuddle this cute little baby bird which was running in front of our car. So adorable.

I got to cuddle this cute little baby bird which was running in front of our car. So adorable.

A beautiful view over Hofsjökull

A beautiful view over Hofsjökull.

Our lovely home town Akureyri

Our lovely home town Akureyri seen form the other side of Eyjafjörður.

Old turf houses at Baugasel

These old turf houses at Baugasel, I got to see a few times this summer. It’s such a beautiful place and luckily often free from tourists.

I got to see my favourite waterfall, Goðafoss, a few times, still I find it more and more beautiful for every time

I got to see my favourite waterfall, Goðafoss, a few times, still I find it more and more beautiful for every time.

The original nature bath at Mývatn, Grjótagjá, was one of the things I got to see for the first time.

The original nature bath at Mývatn, Grjótagjá, was one of the things I got to see for the first time. It’s really nice but unfortunately a bit to hot to take a swim in.

A beautiful view over Eyjafjörður from Vaðlaheið on a very sunny day takes your breath away!

A beautiful view like this over Eyjafjörður from Vaðlaheið, on a very sunny day takes your breath away!

When you're driving tourists in the Mývatn area you have to stop for a walk at Hverir.

When you’re driving tourists in the Mývatn area you have to stop for a walk at Hverir and see the bubbling mud pits.

The turf houses at Laufás are really nice and very interesting for me, so I didn't mind going here a few times during the summer.

The turf houses at Laufás are really nice and very interesting for me, so I didn’t mind going here a few times during the summer.

The nature bath at Laugafell always looks very inviting, still I never got the opportunity to go for a swim.

The nature bath at Laugafell always looks very inviting, still I never got the opportunity to go for a swim. Maybe I will be more lucky this winter or maybe next summer.

Unfortunately summer is now over, and since the forecast for this week is snow it’s safe to say that winter is approaching fast. My only “disappointment” this summer is that we didn’t have enough sunny and warm days and summer seemed to be over just when it was about to start. But you can’t have everything, right? This will still be a summer to remember. Now I’m hoping for a nice winter with lots of snow to make up for the short summer!

6 thoughts on “A change in seasons

    • Yes I know we’ve seen some Northern lights already, but I’m sure there will be more 🙂
      I haven’t noticed any problems myself with the photos but will look into it, thank you for letting me know.

Leave a Reply

