Slow Driving

All weekend long Doddi and his father was working hard to change the engine in the Cherokee. Sometime after lunch on Sunday they were finally finished and Doddi and I took the car out for a test drive, just to make sure it worked properly 😉 Since we weren’t sure how the engine would be we decided on a short trip, and so we went up to Úlfarsfell and then continue on from there to Hafrafell. On our way down from Úlfarsfell Doddi decided that it was time for me to learn how to drive the car. I have tried it once or twice before, but the only for a couple of minutes or so, and never off road like this. I of course said no at first being a bit scared of it all. But after a lot of persuading from Doddi I finally got behind the wheel and started driving. I don’t know if any of you have ever tried to drive a super Jeep, but let me tell you that it’s kind of different from driving a normal car. As much as I thought it was fun I was also a bit terrified, what if something went wrong, what if I hit a too big rock, what if, what if… There were just a million thoughts racing threw my head those first few minutes. When driving off road the road is far from straight and smooth so you always have to know where you have your wheels and how high up the car is from the ground. It took me a little while to figure out where I had my wheels, and I did drive over a few rocks that I never meant to, but after a little while I did get a hang of it and could manoeuvre the car around all the rocks and holes. When Doddi is driving he has full control over the car at all times and he can drive pretty fast if he knows it’s safe. I on the other hand did not drive fast at all. It took a lot longer for us to get up that mountain than it would have if Doddi was driving, but at least I did it!

I’m sure that next time I get behind the wheel of that car I’m still going to be a little scared, but maybe not as scared as I was the first time. If you have read my bucket list you know that my goal is to drive a super Jeep in snow, but to do that I need a little bit more practice before I’m ready for it.

2 thoughts on “Slow Driving

    • Thank you 🙂 It was really cool to get to drive the car after sitting in the passenger seat for years watching Doddi drive 😉

Leave a Reply

