The Glacier Circle

Late on our second day of driving I completed the circle around the glaciers Eyjafjallajökull and Mýrdalsjökull! I drove part of the way last summer and now these two days we drove the last part.

Ever since the first time I saw a glacier I’ve been fascinated by them. They can be so beautiful and still they can be deadly. My goal for this summer was to complete a walk on one of the glaciers here. But unfortunately I’m having problems with my toes and therefore won’t be able to do it this year. Still I’m not giving up on my goal. I will at some point complete a glacier walk! Hopefully I can do it next year. Since I can’t walk on a glacier at the moment it was nice to at least have driven around two of them this summer! 🙂

The end of my glacier circle was at Ófærufoss. Doddi and I went there last year, and then we said that next time we came there we would do the walk in the canyon Eldgjá. Unfortunately we came there very late, so we never had time to do the walk. But even if we were far away from the waterfall, it still looked beautiful. This waterfall is one of my favorite waterfalls in Iceland. My absolute favorite is still Goðafoss 😉

Ófærufoss

4 thoughts on “The Glacier Circle

    • Yes it should, it’s very special and it is a must to see it 😉 But I would recommend doing the walk in the canyon if you have time, it’s supposed to be a lot nicer 😉

    • Yes it can be very risky, but I’m not planning on walking on the part of the glacier which isn’t considered safe 😉
      About all the names, it’s hard to pronounce them I know, the only way to know how to is by knowing the Icelandic alphabet, and even then it’s kind of hard at times 😉

Leave a Reply

